Goodbye To My Soul


The devil is the mastermind
of capitalism.
Getting what you sold your soul for
is a camouflaged optimism.

Demons view your poverty
from a penthouse, pulling your strings
from the shadows.

Thought, memories,
synchronizing
into a vortex of lost and found
where your intelligence
lost the full deck of cards to frolic with.

Loved ones lost patience listening
to a persistent man reminiscing,
promising he will go back of what used to be.
Chasing the ghost of my memories
echoes of the angels slip away from me.

Losing myself in past time,
drifting in the previous shine.
My soul is a hoarder for the days
before yesterday, wishing tomorrow was a yesterday.

Spoiled for memories, blocking blessings
not comprehending
today’s way of living.

Delusional as neglecting
enjoying the moment, subconsciously rehearsing
in today’s time,
acting the part hoping the clocks rewind,
to bring everything forward
I left behind.

Reliving of what I was previously
when I am asleep dreaming,
are regrets as I wake in the flesh
of today’s reality.

A wolverine in the flesh,
but a kryptonite in my heart.

Don’t know where to start
to escape from being
trapped in the dead end
of where my soul use to be.

Living long enough
to see a nightmare
from start to finish.
Permanent graveyard shift,
wondering if the sun ever exist?

Nightmare clear as vodka,
numbing the cold winter nights,
walking with ease where I’m sleeveless
and soulless.

3 thoughts on “Goodbye To My Soul

  1. There was a past time where I would have debated you about capitalism. I’m a fair amount more jaded lately however, lol. I will say this much though; any economic system will work IF the people running it are honest and care about their fellow man. Those are VERY rare traits today however, especially among those in power.

    Well done on the poem also, lest I forget. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment