A Story of How I Almost Gave Up


Late night, reminiscing of times before I knew you exist.
I came a very very long way, lessons I will never forget.
Painful moments was regrets, but eventually turned to lessons.
I know more now compared to back then, but still have unanswered questions.
Life is short like abbreviations, a fast paced world as my mind advances.
Lives are the doors and over the years I walked from door to door.
I was a salesman that knocked on them, usually the door remained closed or only opened for a few seconds.
A lot of rejections and even though that comes with the business of being a salesmen,
my confidence, I started to question.
Feet was tired from walking, sweet honest words I was tired of speaking.
Even though I was selling a dream, I wasn’t robbing them for money, I was stealing their attention, trying to give them the whole world in a moment.
But yet I was failing, usually by landslide, but at times I came close to passing.
The closer I came to passing,  the more I complained when I faced rejection.
So I know a heartbreak probably hurts 10 times more when breakups happen so close to the wedding.
Still a lot more attractive houses left, but I took a break and rested my feet.
I changed my approach and use devil techniques.
I did whatever it took to satisfy my needs.
Lies wasn’t something I was proud of but I wanted to satisfy my needs by any means.
So because I focused on the currency, telling them what they wanna hear was the cheat.
I did get better results, needs was satisfied, but yet why did success feel overrated?
Was it because I was cheating?
At first I thought hard work was overrated, but quickly learned success is overrated 
when you make it through life by cheating.
So I was a robot going through the process, I become emotionless.
But then I found your door, knocked on it, and it was wide open.
I thought to myself, maybe I’m a just fool trying to impress another person 
or your the fool that’s a victim of a selfish man requirement.
But what was different was I was invited in and now it’s  two years later and still haven’t left.
I’m nice and comfortable and got a tour of the inside.
The furniture and decorations, now this is love at first sight.
The door is closed behind me, but the key to the outside still visible upon my eye sight.
I don’t know what’s the best decision to make now for a better future,
but all of my rejections was previous lessons that made me much wiser.
Now the key that’s visible, you can unlock the door and let me back out
Or we  can dwell together in this house forever.
I hope you make the right decision after reading this letter,
And if you do, I promise you to give you the world in every moment, forever.

2 thoughts on “A Story of How I Almost Gave Up

Leave a comment